Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Day 2 of realizations and lessons

Today I've realized that had a man not invented the pacifier in 1902.... A nursing mom would've not too long after! LOL I also realize that if me little guy didn't take one, I'd become the human pacifier for all eternity (not really, though it seems)! I'm grateful for our paci's!

I've learned to just keep my mouth shut, to smile and GET OVER IT! Not everything will go the way I want or plan. To be happy with what is, and not sulk over what isn't!

Lifes simple little messages....

I know, I know.... 2 posts in 1 night! I wanted to get this started today... actually yesterday since I meant to get this going on Monday. We'll count this as Monday's, and then when I post again in the evening, or whenever I get a chance, we'll count it as today's!

I learn something new EVERYDAY! Usually it's taught to me by my children.... who knew, as moms, we'd be taking little lessons from little people, much, much younger than we are??!

I'm going to try to list at least one thing I've learned or became aware of everyday this week.

Today (monday) :
I've realized that as adults, we've lost the ability to be content with the simple things in life. I remember as a child, feeling wonderful walking in the cool grass with my bare feet! LOL... I know, random, but SO SIMPLE! I did it today... and I got that giddy feeling that I used to get as a child! It feels so natural to me. Something that you should be able to feel all the time. Who needs shoes??!! If I could feel like that all the time, I'd throw out all my shoes!

I've also learned that I shouldn't let miss Tater Tot wipe herself after going potty.... this leads to a clogged toilet due to the amount of toilet paper she THINKS she NEEDS to use. *Note to self... follow the toddler to the toilet and watch until she's finished, that 60 seconds of inconvenience is going to save me 30 minutes with my "friend" the plunger!

Friday, October 23, 2009

Time changes everything!

WOW! Those 2 and a half months flew by... and my blog has been super boring, considering this is the first update since I've posted my first entry.

Things have changed, A LOT! We have now welcomed # 3 into our wonderful little family! He's such a BEAUTIFUL little boy! I just can't get enough of him! You'll meet him at the end of this post!

In this post, I'm going to tell you about the birth of our 3rd little miracle! (another way of helping me remember... i'll always have it written somewhere)

I was getting fairly anxious around the beginning of the last month of this pregnancy, about 36wks or so. My body was already preparing for birth with some dilation and effacement, and lot of braxton hicks contractions. I would have strong contractions starting around dinner time and lasting throughout the night, and then they would be gone in the morning. This happend several nights out of the week those last few weeks. My midwife was going to be out of town the whole week of the week that I was due, and we really wanted her to be there to ensure that I had the delivery that I wanted. I was very nervous that if he didn't come before she left, that i'd have him by another OB and that things wouldn't go as planned. But.... this little guy waited, patiently, until the time was perfect!!

I was very set on having a "natural" birth. No IV, or meds, only occasional monitoring and only nessicary interventions. I wanted this to be a very laid back event, something I would, to some extent, enjoy. Once I hit my due date, I realized there might be a chance that i'd have to be induced again, for the 3rd time. I was induced with my other 2. I didn't want this, I wanted it to happen when God wanted it to happen. Throughout the second half of my pregnancy, I read a book called "Christ Centered Childbirth". Amazing book! Anyways..... after reading this book, and praying about it, I decided I would wait for Gods timing in the birth of my child. But... like I said, once my due date came and went, I was starting to doubt the fact that my body would do it on its own. It never had before, so maybe it didn't know how to. "Dad" and I decided that if baby didn't come by a certain day, that we would go ahead and have midwife break my water(least invasive way of inducing). In my heart, I was still not content with that decision. I was going against what I had made a commitment to do. I got just what I needed to settle my mind on my already made commitment at my last midwife appointment. She would not break my water unless I came in having contractions! This was just the answer I needed to reassure me that Gods timing is the best! Me around 40-41wks


Wednesday September 16th, 6 days past my due date, I decided to take the kids for a little walk before we ate dinner, while we were waiting on Dad to get home from work. I had walked day after day hoping that would pick things up, and it never did. We walked for a good hour, came in, ate dinner and then noticed contractions were picking up (really nothing unusual though as this is what happened several nights a week). We got the kids in bed and headed to bed ourselves. As Dad and I watched a little TV in bed I felt and heard this
loud "pop". I thought for sure my water had broke.... but nothing happened. It couldn't have been anything else though... it was just too strange of a feeling and sound. It was even loud enough for Dad to hear it! I got up and changed positions, went to the bathroom and still nothing, not leaking... nothing. So I decide that IF it was in fact my water breaking, I better get some rest.

So at about 10:30pm I attempt to start getting to sleep. From then until about 1am I have a strong contraction every 30 minutes, strong enough to make me get up from laying down to be able to work through it. I got up to use the bathroom several times, moved around, got back in the bed, etc. At a little after 1am I had a very intense contraction that got me out of the bed and onto my birth ball. As I sat down on it I felt a big gush and knew right there that my water had indeed broken. I woke Dad up, who immediately shot out of the bed and got things going! We WERE GOING TO HAVE A BABY!!! NOW!

I called my doulas to let them know, and my sister to come stay with the others. We left, stopped to get batteries and off we went! One doula met us there as we were waiting out in the lobby for a room to get cleaned up. They were so full in L&D that they had to move someone to another area of the hospital. So here I am, waiting in the lobby surrounded by people I didn't know, and having contractions! Having a contraction in the lobby

We finally got in our room around 3am. Signed papers, got monitored for about 30minutes, and then got checked. I was already at 7cm!! I was shocked! In NO way did I feel like I was that far already!

Being monitored once we got in my room

I labored for the next several hours standing up, leaning against Dad, with my doulas putting pressure on my back, or doing whatever else I needed them to do. Occasionally I would sit on the birth ball, but it just wasn't as comfortable as standing. The pain and pressure was MUCH easier to tolerate while standing! A nurse occasionally came in to monitor me, and ask if I needed anything, they pretty much just stayed out of the way and let me do what I needed/wanted. About 3 hours later I was checked again and only progressed another 1cm. Kinda bummed, but was ok... that meant only 2 more cm!!!
It was much easier having dad to support me!

Contractions were getting a little more intense by this point, still managable, but definitely more intense. I decided to labor in the tub for a while. They filled it up, I got in and had about 4 contractions and had a lot of pressure, so they got me out to check me again. I'm now 8.5cm but they notice that I have a small extra sac of fluid that is keeping the baby from moving down anymore, so I had my midwife go ahead and break that. I was then told to try getting on my hands and knees to get the baby properly positioned to come out, he had his head turned kind of side ways at this point.
a little relief! very welcomed!

This is where it gets crazy! It's hard for me to remember everything because it went so fast from there. I felt a little out of control at this point, with contractions right on top of each other! Things happened so fast. I had this HUGE urge to push, and of course... the nurse tells me NOT TO PUSH, that my midwife is on her way back down. But.... my body took over and just kept pushing. It was CRAZY! I remember at this point asking God for strength, lots of it! I felt without it, I wasn't going to make it! It's amazing what your body just KNOWS how to do. I remembered rocking my hips back and forth... something I wasn't told to do, but something that just felt right. Little did I know that motions like this bring the baby farther down into the birth canal. obviously this is where it got hard

So not long after getting on my hands and knees, I feel baby start to crown! NOT FUN.... but makes getting him out fast that much more urgent! LOL! I pushed a few times and Finlay Jacob was born! He arrived at 9:12am on September 17th, 2009. He weighed 8lbs 10.7 oz, 19 in long!

He was by far my easiest, most enjoyable labor and birth! He was born free! Free from medications or interventions.... probably closest to a home birth I could've gotten at a hospital! I couldn't have done this without my husband, or my 2 doulas, Sarah and Kelly! They were all amazing, and I can't even dream of having another child without their support! So here he is!!

about an hour old or so

Our Family of 5

what a sweet little boy!



Now! At 8wks!! He's such a happy little guy!
Full of wonderful smiles and laughs!

Saturday, August 8, 2009

Formal Introductions?? That would be a start!

Ahhhh.... how long has it been since I've created this silly thing... that I thought I'd like to write on every day, or even once a week? Oh, several months! I've struggled with how to start, what to say, blah blah blah, really it's just laziness, that's all. I'm here now, and we're gonna get things rolling!

Formal Intro's?

I'm The MOM. Or mama, or mommy, or whatever else they
manage to come up with. Who are they, you may ask?
"They" are the little people that tug on my pants while i'm doing dishes. "They" are the ones that I take to the potty a GAZILLION times a day, whom I cook for, and feed. "They" are the ones with sticky, sweaty hands that touch the walls that I wipe down occasionally.... yeah, you get it... "they" are my sweet, wonderful, beautiful children!!! And there's another "they".... he's the one that works 12hr swing shift, who fixes things when they are broken, who, after a long long day or night, gives me that little break I need and wrestles with the "little people", and reads them books. That's the DAD!
Pictures? What's a name without a face?
Here I am...."MOM". Oh.. and look, there's # 3. I almost forgot to mention this little guy! He'll be gracing us with his presence around the end of this month, or the beginning of September!! We'll call him "huck".
This is "DAD". He's the glue of this little thing we have going. He's a hard working, extremely devoted Husband and Father! There's nothing like seeing a tired dad come home from work that still has the desire to play with is children!

This guy right here is the oldest of our soon to be 3! What a handsome guy, right? We'll call him "Monkey Dude"! He has it all, this little fellow! The smile, warm heart, hugs and kisses.... he's a gentle soul, but don't let that fool you! Oh, no. He's all boy! Rough and tumble, hard working, protective. If you need evidence, try scrubbing the, what looks like filthy dirt, off of those actually bruised and skinned up legs of his in the bath tub! You'll hear much more about Monkey Dude in posts to come!



This sweet little faced munchkin is "Tater Tot". Don't let her fool you either! Under that absolutely SWEET, ADORABLE little smile and face is... that's right, ATTITUDE. This is #2 of our soon to be 3. She's sweet in nearly every way! This is the little girl that pulls on my pants while i'm doing the dishes. She's the one that carries her babydoll everywhere... even sits her on the potty when she needs to go. Again, you'll here more about Tater Tot in future posts.


I guess that's it for formal introductions! Now... I need to tell myself that it wasn't THAT hard to start this thing, now was it? Hope you all enjoy my "Break-time blog"!